A Post on Coursework and Games

This October was surprisingly warm and sunnier compared to last year. Though it was nice, I dread the winter now. I have been seeing articles that it will be a colder winter which just makes me wonder, how cold exactly?

But I have more important things weighing on my mind lately. Like the coursework that has been slowly piling up. I have to admit, I have been putting off certain two course works because those two are lab reports. And for the life of me, I have no clue how to write a lab report.

In my defence, I never wrote a lab report in my entire life. And people looked shocked and wonder out loud why I haven’t. Back home, for both O’ level and A’ level, I did ATP (alternative to practical). It would be hard to have a practical if there were no Bunsen burners with fuel or chemicals enough for everyone. I went through O’ levels without conducting an experiment myself or in a group. So when they gave us templates last year, I was saved.

The training wheels came off fast and I was riding my bicycle shakily.  I had to write my own lab reports. Student Essentials on blackboard had guidelines on how to write a lab report, though I wish there had been a workshop on how to write lab reports. That would have been immensely helpful. Especially for those who have never written a lab report in their entire life.

Other than that, I have been enjoying the course works given to me this year. I FINALLY CODED PROGRAMS!!! It was hair-tearing-off-frustrating when the program simply wouldn’t work the way I wanted to. And when you find the mistake (sometimes spelling errors), the joy of your hard work paying off in the form of a black screen has never been this good. I loved working on Fortran. I don’t think I can ever been thankful enough for all those people who made and developed programs that I use every day. It is hard work and definitely endless sleepless nights just to get part of the program right.

The other course work isn’t really a course work. It is, more accurately put, a game – a game that we are assessed on. I know right? Unbelievable!  But I assure you; it’s definitely assessed and is I think 10% of our module.

The game, rather, our course work, is a business simulation. It involves a group of students handling a civil engineering firm for a total of five periods starting from period five. Our scores can go down with what we decide, for example, from the labour we hire to the amount we pay our shareholders. It’s a lot of information to process for a single person. But when we divide our work in the group, it becomes little, manageable tasks. However, the disadvantage is that communication has to be excellent between all members. Any miscommunication and you’re doomed. Because a decision made by one member within their department can affect the decisions of other members. This is as close we can get to handling a business. Of course, minus the actual people and the actual money. But the prize for the winning team isn’t virtual. And I am proud to say my team has been in the number one position for a week (before we went down to third) and our score hasn’t gone down.

I think that’s about it for this month. Wow! This is all about course work. But hey, when you have awful and awesome course work, you can’t help but talk about it. I am definitely not looking forward for the next two months because that’s when my homesickness strikes. And if anything from the people who have studied abroad said, this time is going to be worse than the first year away. I’ll just have to call home more often. I hope you all are doing well! Don’t let the course work get to you!

3 responses

  1. Hamna, thanks for the feedback. Team DINAY did really well with the Business Simulation. I am glad that you enjoyed it and you are obviously learning a lot. Yes, business decisions are linked and communication in the team is vitally important. Two great lessons to learn. I hope these lessons will be useful as you go forward in your career.

  2. Pingback: Gamification – the Awesome Approach to coursework | thereselawlorwright

Leave a Reply

